A friend is another web application that allows this application to send requests on behalf of an authorized user. In other words, a friend is a server application that makes its information available for consulting (or possibly creating/updating) to this application using an authorized friend-application user.
Friends are needed to create outgoing OSLC Links, this means you need to register the OSLC Remote Application as a friend of ${local-app} if you want to create OSLC Links on ${local-app} side; keep in mind that additional configuration will be required on the OSLC Remote Application side, but for now let's focus on the requirements of this side.
It is worth to mention that a friend is not bound to any particular friend-application user; at the proper working moment, the friend will request the friend-application user credentials to allow this application work on behalf of it (a process known as "user authentication").
Register Friend button on top right.Register Friend dialog according to the following field descriptions:
| Field | Required | Description | Notes | Suggested Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Title |
Yes | A logical name for human identification. | Commonly the server application name. | The OSLC Remote Application name. |
Root Services URI |
Yes | The endpoint of the friend's root services service. | Must be provided by the OSLC Remote Application administrator and
must use the same transfer protocol (HTTP or HTTPS) as the ${local-app} server. |
A valid provided root services URL. |
OAuth Key |
Yes | Must select either you want to create (request) a provisional key or to reuse an existing one. | Requesting a provisional key means the OSLC Remote Application must approve your request before you can start accessing the system. Reuse an existing one means you have been already granted with access to the system and therefore, you will be provided with the corresponding consumer's key and secret. | Create Provisional |
Trusted |
No | Whether the provisional key will be deemed as trusted or not. | This field will be visible only if "Create Provisional" Key value is selected. |
checked |
Existing key |
Yes | The existing authorized key to be reused. | This field will be visible only if "Reuse Existing" Key value is selected. |
An authorized existing key. |
OAuth Secret |
Yes | This application password. | How this application will be authenticated on the server. | The corresponding Key password if "Reuse Existing" Key value was selected; whatever you want as long as you don't forget it otherwise. |
Confirm Secret |
Yes | Password confirmation | Just a confirmation field to avoid password typos. | The same as Secret field. |
Register button.If you requested a provisional key, a second dialog is open (Authorize Provisional Key) to remind the user this key still needs to be authorized on the remote server
before using it. If the OSLC Remote Application supports the remote authorization of provisional keys, this dialog will give a chance to do so from
${local-app}.
This works only if you happen to be also an administrator of the OSLC Remote Application. If this works for you, click
on the Grant access for the provisional key link (only visible if remote application supports this feature). You will be asked to login in the remote application
or, if you had a session already started, just follow the remote instructions to approve the provisional key, this is done typically by clicking on some Approve button. Close the Authorize
Provisional Key dialog, by clicking on the OK button, when the remote application indicates provisional key has been authorized.
A new friend entry will be displayed on the Friends list. Note only the Friend Name, Root Services URI and Friend Key
fields will be shown.
OK button in the confirmation dialog.If everything went OK, the chosen friend will be deleted from the system and it will no longer appear on the table.
Title and Secret fields can be updated. ${friend-relocation}Update button to save these changes.If everything went OK, the chosen friend will be updated and changes will be reflected in the list. Note: saving will be rejected when changing Secret if this does not match with the corresponding remote consumer secret.