When a Global Configuration is locally used in ${local-app}, there is a fourth validation that dropped/pasted artifacts must pass to be linkable:
Being compatible means that if both configurations are not the same, the remote artifact must also
exist in the locally used configuration; when this condition is met, the dropping result is a warning
message indicating that the version of the linked artifact will be different from the dropped/pasted version.
This warning does not prevent the linking as having warnings in the results table does not disable the
Link button, it's up to the users to decide what to do in this situation.
Given each remote application has its own way to deal with configurations or not at all, this point is revisited on each individual application topic above.